Skip to content

February Break

February 1, 2013

Just a brief break this month.  Matt and Shaun will be back in March.

Enjoy your winter!  Grab a cup of hot cocoa and catch up on those older ‘casts you’ve been meaning to catch up on (hint, hint).

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin McCubbin permalink
    April 1, 2013 11:50 pm

    One of your 3 listeners is wondering where you guys are? As an Elder in a non-confessional church I am missing your pastoral insights into the ordinary means…keep up the good work

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      April 2, 2013 1:27 pm

      Kevin (and the other two listeners),

      Thank you for being one of the three! At the moment, Matt and I are working on some projects that have taken us away from the podcast. We encourage everyone to take this time to “fill up” on the ones they’ve missed and, should the Lord will, we’ll be back after a time. Keep returning the ordinary means!

      Shaun

      • Kevin McCubbin permalink
        April 2, 2013 10:25 pm

        Thanks Shaun

        The Lord has used you fellows to have a significant influence in the reformation of the pastoral theology (amongst other things) of at least 2 non-confessional churches of which I am aware. I pray that your current projects will be equally blessed. Thank you for facilitating much reflection, prayer, and conversation amongst us.

  2. Linda J permalink
    May 17, 2013 3:03 am

    Missing you guys!!

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      May 17, 2013 1:39 pm

      Thank you, Linda.

  3. Mike C permalink
    May 28, 2013 12:49 am

    I agree completely with Kevin’s comments. I happen to be a part of the other non-confessional church he refers to. Know that we have learned much from your podcasts, finding them excellent gifts to give to our friends to “stir conversation”. Indeed, Lord willing, we look forward to your return and also pray that God would use your other projects you are currently working on.
    Mike

  4. Steve permalink
    July 16, 2013 10:14 am

    I hope you guys are all okay. Missing your podcast – really!

  5. Jim permalink
    August 10, 2013 7:40 am

    Me too

  6. Larry E. Parker permalink
    August 21, 2013 7:43 pm

    I just found your podcast and am enjoying catching up while you guys are away. I just listened to the “BOOKS” episode and was wondering what software you recommend for a books database? Thanks

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      August 21, 2013 7:47 pm

      Larry,

      Been using goodreads.com lately.

      Shaun

      • Larry Parker permalink
        October 15, 2013 1:02 pm

        Found another book database I really like; librarything.com. You can store up to 200 titles free, then you can buy a membership for $25 for a lifetime.

  7. August 31, 2013 2:08 am

    I found you guys a few weeks ago. Appreciate your show…looking forward to your return.

  8. Larry Parker permalink
    October 14, 2013 4:18 pm

    Hey guys, I really wanted to listen to “On Folks You Should Listen To” May 1st, 2010 but it will not download and the other link is obsolete. Any way you put a good link to that up? Or email to me?

    Larry Parker

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      October 15, 2013 12:49 pm

      Links should be working now. T4G had changed their server since we posted.

      Shaun

  9. Larry Parker permalink
    October 14, 2013 4:19 pm

    BTW, are you continuing podcast? or is it gone forever?

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      October 15, 2013 12:52 pm

      We’re not gone. At least we’re still breathing. Think of this as an extended Sabbatical while we attend to some other projects and give everyone a chance to catch up on our years of material–which I know you are doing. Thanks for asking. It’s interest like yours that makes us want to keep serving in this way.

      Shaun

      • Larry Parker permalink
        October 15, 2013 12:59 pm

        Good!

  10. HFL permalink
    November 3, 2013 5:47 pm

    Dear Shaun,

    Looking at the number of different commentators on this page, I think you may have to update your proposed number of listeners. Maybe 7 or 8?

    I know well how busy you are currently, but I do look forward to your return.

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      November 3, 2013 10:57 pm

      I’m starting to think so.

  11. John B permalink
    December 8, 2013 12:03 am

    Ok, all caught up! Let’s do it! Please…

  12. Courtney permalink
    January 14, 2014 5:25 am

    Wishing for new episodes! I love this podcast and often hope to find that you’ve started producing them again. Sadly, that’s not happened for a long time. 😦 Any chance the posts of your faithful listeners begging for your return will influence you at all?

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      January 14, 2014 2:07 pm

      Courtney,
      Thank you for the kind words. The begging is certainly getting noticed. 🙂
      Shaun

  13. Kevin McCubbin permalink
    March 19, 2015 2:26 am

    Just Checking in fellows… Kevin here again, I have restarted listening to the podcast again, and am thankful to the Lord for these conversations. In fact, right now I am prepping for an Elder’s meeting tomorrow! Listening to the conversations again is a bit like reconnecting with friends you haven’t seen in a while. Accordingly, how are the O.M. podcasters doing and how is your project? It would be a delight to hear you continue to engage with culture & the church from your O.M. perspective

    • ordinarymeans permalink*
      March 19, 2015 1:51 pm

      Kevin – thanks for the complement. While we have not ruled out returning to record, our commitments right now remain to our churches and our growing families. (I’ll let Matt respond on the project front.) I will, however, leave you with a piece of advice I’d love to do a podcast on: keep your calling where you have been called to and don’t listen to the lure of social media. I’ve often reflected on the fact Jesus only had 12 (yea, 11) disciples and I’ve got a whole church full. At the risk of sounding like Thoreau, turn off the phone and the computer and go be with them. (I suppose Thoreau’s error was to be by himself.) That is where our social focus should be.

      • lindamarie123 permalink
        March 19, 2015 7:51 pm

        I found the “comment  follow up” in my email inbox and just t want to say, I too have been relistening to all the old podcasts!  I don’t even remember how I found you guys years ago; but since then, I’ve been convinced I needed to find an “ordinary means” type church.  My husband and I started attending a new PCA church plant in our area! It’s been wonderful!  This has been an answer to prayer due in part to what I have learned on your podcast. Praying for you both and your families, L jones    

      • ordinarymeans permalink*
        March 19, 2015 7:52 pm

        Linda – That is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

