Skip to content

Preaching and preaching

October 30, 2007
No, that is not a typo in the title. This month on the Ordinary Means podcast, we address the difference between what preachers do (namely, preach) and what every Christian is called to do (namely, preach). How hard and fast should we draw the lines twixt the two? We discuss this very thing.

Let your friends know you can listen here, download directly from this link (right click and save), or as always subscribe to our iTunes feed.

Related Tags:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 16, 2007 4:03 am

    Thanks guys for your encouraging and insightful podcasts. I enjoyed this month’s.

    A question I have been mulling over in my mind is one of how connected is salvation to baptism. I realize that baptism is not a means of regeneration, but it seems whenever baptism is mentioned in Scripture it is uniquely tied to salvation (i.e. I Peter 3:21). From my reading of the church fathers, like Augustine, it seems they place a great deal of salvific importance upon baptism. Historically, I know that Reformed theology holds to it as a means of grace with which I agree, but in what way and to what degree is it linked to salvation?

    Thanks!

  2. Robert permalink
    November 20, 2007 4:31 pm

    I love your podcast. The last one raised a question in my mind.

    In arguing that every believer is called to (little p) preaching, you referred to the Great Commission and asserted that every believer, individually, is called to evangelism. However, if this is the case, wouldn’t it also follow that every believer is called to baptize converts? I can’t separate “make disciples” and “baptize them” – it would all be my personal duty and privilege.

    Every denomination I know of teaches that evangelism is an individual responsibility, but no denomination I know of teaches that an individual believer may/should baptize those who are converted through his ministry.

    Would it be better to understand the Great Commission as a corporate responsibility given to the church, rather than to individuals? And what would that look like?

Leave a Reply

