Skip to content

Church Planting

September 27, 2006

The September podcast is live and ready for listening to.

This month, we talked about church planting. Let us know what you think.

Let your friends know you can listen here, download directly from this link (right click and save), or subscribe to our iTunes feed.

Books:
Let the Nations Be Glad, John Piper
An Exposition of the Shorter Catechism, Alexander Whyte
Anything by Neil Postman
Surprising Insights from the Unchurched, Ranier
How Shall We Then Live?, Francis Schaeffer
Art for God’s Sake, Phil Ryken
Contemplative Pastor, Eugene Peterson

Articles:
Christ and the City, Tim Keller
Centrality of the Gospel, Tim Keller
Art, American Style, Gene Veith

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Martin permalink
    September 28, 2006 5:30 am

    Hi guys,

    Great discussion – thanks!

    Despite my lazy streak (!) I recently started up a blog and just introduced a topic that will probably take up several posts concerning some principles learned at a RUM conference. I think the RUM approach to campus ministry is very compatible with the “ordinary means” approach, though I never heard them use that term.

    Keep up the good work. Now I can’t wait for your book!

    BTW, I picked up the Rainer book on a whim about a year ago and was more than pleasantly surprised. Of course, it did confirm my presuppositions, but still…

  2. Raymond McPherson permalink
    October 28, 2007 7:17 pm

    Thanks so much for this podcast guys. It’s definitely a message that I wish some of my friends could hear (and I know I need to constantly be reminded of it). Especially as Americans, we want instant gratification, even as Christians doing God’s work.

    We always need to be reminded that things work out in God’s time and that our labor is not in vain, “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return there but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it” (Isa 55:10, 11).

    Thanks for expressing this message faithfully and pastorally. These podcasts are wonderful and will be definitely be used over and over if God allows me to become a pastor (and probably even if he doesn’t).

  3. Raymond McPherson permalink
    October 29, 2007 8:45 am

    By the way, is your book out yet?

  4. pastorshaun permalink
    October 29, 2007 1:55 pm

    Raymond,

    Thanks for your comments and encouragement!

    At this point, our book is on hold. The publisher decided to go with a similar project we will be involved with at a later date.

    Shaun

Leave a Reply

