Skip to content

House Churches

May 11, 2006

The podcast is up with a lively discussion on the House Church Movement. Can House Churches have an ordinary means of grace ministry? Have a listen.

Let your friends know you can listen here, download directly from this link (right click and save), or subscribe to our iTunes feed.

And don’t forget to let us know what you thought. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to answering more of your questions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Raymond McPherson permalink
    August 6, 2007 10:49 pm

    Hello. First off, let me just say that I’m a new listener and I’m going chronologically through your archives. I’ve listened to the first 5 Ordinary Means podcasts (from Ordinary Means to House Church Movement) and I’ve enjoyed them thoroughly. I’m also a long time fan of the White Horse Inn podcast and I think that both podcasts compliment each other beautifully.

    Regarding what I’ve listened to so far, I’ve agreed with pretty much everything. All of your suggestions have been extremely helpful (especially for a future Reformed minister which, God willing, I’ll be). If I may, one book I think you could recommend for your listeners, and that you might enjoy yourself, that would compliment what you’ve already been teaching is Michael Horton’s “A Better Way: Rediscovering The Drama of Christ-Centered Worship.”

    But back to your podcast, usually you guys have answered most of the questions that come to my mind (and some of the issues I’ve been discussing with a fellow monergist), but regarding the House Church Movement podcast, I did have one question. You may end up answering it in a future podcast, but I wanted to ask just in case.

    I live in a town (my hometown) and in a general area where there’s no church that I’ve been able to find that has an ordinary means ministry. Not only that, but many of the churches (I’m being gracious in calling them that) in the area fail to even mention Jesus in the songs, sermons, or anything else and if he is mentioned, it’s not as a savior, but more as a life coach. Thankfully, when I go to college, I have a Reformed church that I can attend, but when I’m home for holidays and breaks, there’s nowhere I can really go. But I have it easy. I have a few Reformed friends in the area that live here year round. In your podcast, you said that in the best-case scenario (that is, when there’s a good church in the area) that there’s no need for a home church. So my question is, what should one do if there’s no true (or even remotely true) church in the area and one can’t afford to relocate?

    As I mentioned at the beginning of this comment, I myself am planning on becoming a Reformed pastor, but that’s at least 5 years away. I really do want to open a Reformed church once I’m ordained so I can bring the Gospel of Christ crucified to my hometown area. But my question is, what do my friends and I do until then?

    If you wouldn’t mind e-mailing me a response (or even discussing it on a future podcast), my e-mail is raymondmmcpherson@gmail.com. Thanks in advance.

    In Christ,
    Raymond

Leave a Reply

